The Purpose of Grace


 

[Continued from last week….]

“But He gives us more and more grace (power of the Holy Spirit, to meet this evil tendency and all others fully). That is why He says, God sets Himself against the proud and haughty, but gives grace [continually] to the lowly (those who are humble enough to receive it). ”
(James 4:6)

The Spirit of God is well aware of the iniquities that dwell within in hearts. In spite of this, He continues to bestow upon us greater grace because He is aware of our frailties. He yields up a divine influence upon our hearts. This grace, or divine influence, is not given to us so that we may continue to sin without guilt, living in a way that is not pleasing to God. Instead, this grace is given to us so that we may overcome. With this grace, we can humble ourselves before God that we may “come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in the time of need” (Hebrews 4:16).

So how do we apply this to our daily lives?

When teaching on humility, Nancy Leigh Demoss says:

“…What happens when God convicts me of sin, if, instead of going to Mt. Sinai…I go to Mt. Calvary, where grace was given through Jesus Christ? I humble myself. Lord, You’re right. I have sinned. I agree with God. Write those words down. Agree with God. That’s a response of humility to the conviction of God’s Spirit in our hearts.”
(emphasis mine)

Grace has no effect in the proud heart. It is only in the heart of the humbled and broken spirit that grace is able to bring about proper fruits of righteousness. It is the humbled heart that agrees with God and with His Word. It is a broken spirit that is able to say, “God, you are right and I am wrong. I have no excuse and I choose not to hide my wrongdoing.” To receive His grace, we must be able to open our hearts, minds, and souls to Him – even our very lives – so that He can make us a vessel of honor unto Him.

 Related articles


You heard from us, now, let us here from you!