Running Out of Gas


I had an experience the other day where I ran out of gas in my car. This was an inconvenience for me because I am a delivery driver. For that reason, it is very important that I am able to continue moving. Fortunate for the customer, I had completed the delivery and was on my way back to the store. The management was not very concerned about me being stuck on the side of the road with no gas; his only concern was rather I had done my job. The irony of the situation is that I ran out of gas because I was too busy doing my job. I was so concerned about delivering good customer service that I didn’t take time to re-fuel.

Evangelist Angela Sanders, First Lady of Shiloh Temple COGIC, was able to open my eyes to the spiritual significance of this. Every member of the body of Christ has work to do, but we must make sure that we take time to rest and re-fuel. If we don’t, we will find ourselves running on empty. We cannot afford to be on empty because there are people depending on us.

Even Jesus himself took time away to re-fuel (see Mark 1:35; Mark 6:45-46; Luke 4:42; Luke 5:16). He would steal away early in the mornings to a solitary place in the mountains to commune with the Father. Follow Christ example and be sure to make time for private prayer and private bible study. People are depending on you and you can’t afford to run out of gas. Make sure that you take time to re-fuel so that you are always able to give your best.

You heard from us, now, let us here from you!

