Bless the Lord, O My Soul


If you’ve been to Shiloh Temple on Sunday mornings, you have heard our Pastor sing this song just before the ministry of giving. Because this is an “Every Sunday” Song, I thought it best to use this song for Songs of Praise & Worship Thursdays.

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
and all that is within me,
bless His holy name!

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
and all that is within me,
bless His holy name!

Verse:
He has done great things,
He has done great things,
He has done great things,
bless His holy name!

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
and all that is within me,
bless His holy name!

The following song bio taken hymnary.com.

“Gospel musician Andraé Crouch composed a song for the familiar opening phrases of Psalm 103, one of the much-loved Old Testament hymns about God’s love and compassion for his people…Crouch’s phrase “He has done great things” is a summary reference to all the mighty and compassionate deeds of the Lord described in Psalm 103 – God forgives, heals, provides, and redeems; and he is gracious, patient, loving, and just. Crouch and his ensemble, The Disciples, popularized this chorus by their numerous performances in the early 1970s. The hymn was recorded and published by Lexicon Music in 1973, both as a four-part choral octavo and as a solo piece… —Psalter Hymnal Handbook”

I was wanting to upload a audio clip of our pastor singing this song, but I am having some problems with my iPod right now. So, I will be working on that tonight and will possibly post it for Multimedia Friday. In the mean time, here’s a YouTube video of today’s song:

 

You heard from us, now, let us here from you!

