Always Praise


Praise for the Spirit of HeavinessOn this Sweet Psalm Monday, we take a look at a few verses from Psalm 42.

Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance. O my God, my soul is cast down within me: therefore will I remember thee from the land of Jordan, and of the Hermonites, from the hill Mizar.
(Psa 42:5-6)

Oftentimes, in life we find ourselves burdened down with the cares of this life. Bills are due. Kids are misbehaving. A friend or family member has offended us. Problems on the job. Overwhelming schedules. Fighting with our past. Grieving the loss of a loved one whether through death or separation. Whatever the situation, life can be heavy at times.

It’s at these times that we must be especially mindful to give God praise. We don’t have to wait for Sunday Morning service to praise Him. When we wake up in the morning, and the pain of our current trial is weighing most heavily upon us, send a small praise up to the courts of Heaven: “Thank you Lord for another day,” or “Thank you Lord for waking me up,” or “Thank you Lord for carrying me through the night.” No matter what you are going through, always find something for which to give God thanks.

Perhaps, dear reader, you are thinking, “But there is so much wrong. Every time I turn around — it’s something else. I can barely recover from the last problem before a new one emerges. How can I praise God?” In verse 6 of today’s scriptures, the Psalmist says “O my God, my soul is cast down within me: therefore will I remember thee…”  If you can’t find something for which to praise God in the present, praise Him for what He has done in the past. Think back. Remember the last time He did something great for you. Remember a time when He provided for you. Remember a time when He protected you. Remember a time when He comforted you. I can promise you, if you do this, you will begin to feel better.

“Rejoice in the LORD, O ye righteous: for praise is comely for the upright.” (Psa 33:1)

“The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted… To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he might be glorified.” (Isa 61:1,3)

You are only going through so that God will get the glory out of your life. He will give you joy for your sadness and you can give Him praise to relieve your heaviness. His joy will be your strength to stand firm and sure in the midst of your trial. So, always praise Him because He’s always worthy.

One response to “Always Praise

  • Anonymous

    Praise is what keeps me, guides me and comforts me…yes praise is what I do! Thank you for the inspirtation, motivation and obvious dedication!

You heard from us, now, let us here from you!

