The Consequences of Sin


LORD, rebuke me not in thine anger, neither chasten me in thy hot displeasure.  
 Have mercy upon me, O LORD; for I am weak: O LORD, heal me; for my bones are vexed. 
My soul is also sore vexed: but thou, O LORD, how long? 
Return, O LORD, deliver my soul: oh save me for thy mercies’ sake. 
For in death there is no remembrance of thee: in the grave who shall give thee thanks? 
I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears. 
Mine eye is consumed because of grief…
(Psalm 6:1-7)

When most people talking about the consequences of sin, they are usually referring to physical/outward consequences. If a woman commits fornication, she may become pregnant. If a person commits adultery, he or she may face divorce. If a person misuses company time, they may lose their job.

However, there are inward consequences of sin, too, and those consequences are much more severe. Some of the inward consequences of sin are guilt, grief, shame, embarrassment, isolation, anger, depression, etc. These inward consequences are harder to bear because, often, we must bear them alone. Also, the thought life that comes along with these consequences may cause stress, loss of sleep, and can lead to sickness or even personality disorders.

Thanks be to God that we can come to Him to seek grace and mercy in a time of distress. We know that God is holy and just, and for this reason, some flee from His presence because they fear his judgment. Even when we guilt consumes us, we should always remember to turn to God with our thoughts, insecurities, and fears. Let us turn to Him with our tears. Let us turn to Him with our grief. Let us cry to Him and ask Him to cleanse us afresh and to make us whole again. He is faithful to do it, and it will be done according to our faith.

You heard from us, now, let us here from you!

